Three Days Of Excel With W3 SCHOOLS.

·

3 min read

I have known w3schools for a while but I never got to know about their Excel course and it happens to be the only free and most explanatory course I have taken on excel so far*.*

DAY 01: I got Introduced to the excel spreadsheet. I learned that Excel is a spreadsheet program developed by Microsoft in 1985 that organizes data in rows and columns. Excel is used for Data Entry, Accounting, Analysis, Visuals&graphs, Financial Modelling e.t.c. It allows you to do mathematical functions. I learned that the Excel Structure is made of two pieces; the ribbon and the sheet. The ribbon provides shortcuts to excel and commands. The ribbon comprises the AppLaunder, Tabs, groups, and Commands. The Sheet is a set of rows and columns. I got to learn about Cell referencing. Using the Shift +F11 command helps to create a new sheet. The next topic was Excel syntax where I learned that formulas in Excel always start with”=”. I also learned about ranges and how they allow you to work with a selection of cells. The entire spreadsheet can be selected by using the Ctrl + A command. I Learned about Excel fillings, Moving cells, Adding new rows and columns, and Finally Excel formulas. I got introduced to the two types of cell references in Excel and their differences(Relative and Absolute). The next class was on Excel functions where I learned the=AND,=AVERAGE,=COUNT, etc. I rounded the day’s learning with Excel formatting and an introduction to “Excel Data Analysis” where I learned Excel sorting and Filtering.

DAY 02: Today, I started with Excel Tables where I learned that tables make it easier to structure and organize data. I learned table design, table resizing, removing duplicates, converting a table back to a range, and also styling a table. The next class was on conditional formatting and how it’s used to change the appearance of cells in a range based on the specified condition. I got introduced to the “HIGHLIGHT CELL RULES”, DATA BARS, and CHARTS. There are four(4) commonly used charts in excel; Pie chart, bar chart, column chart, and line chart. I learned how to work around these charts. The next topic was EXCEL PIVOT TABLES. I got to know about the components of pivot tables

DAY 03: Today’s class was on the continuation of Pivot Tables. I got to know about the FIELDS and LAYOUT. I worked on an Excel case: “Poke Mart Shop Cart”. I practiced the skills I learned in the earlier chapters. I learned how to delete gridlines. I also worked on styling a table. The next class was on Excel functions where I learned the AND, IF, AVERAGE, AVERAGEIF, CONCAT, COUNT, COUNTA, COUNTBLANK,COUNTIF, MAX, MIN, MODE, LOWER, TRIM, VLOOKUP e.t.c functions. I also learned how to convert Time to seconds, the Difference between times, NVP, and removing duplicates.

I summarized day 03 to make it easier to comprehend. Thank you so much for reading!

You can reach out to me here:

https://linktr.ee/barakah.sh